

Garrett County Government Department of Community Development **Planning & Land Management Division**

203 South Fourth Street, Room 208, Oakland, Maryland 21550 garrettcountymd.gov/community-development/planning-land-management

Garrett County Planning Commission Minutes March 6, 2025

- 1. **Call to Order** Tony Doerr called the regular meeting of the Garrett County Planning Commission to order at 1:30 pm on March 6, 2025, in the County Commissioners Meeting Room in the Garrett County Courthouse.
- Attendance- Commission members: Tony Doerr, Jeff Messenger, Tim Schwinabart, Larry Tichnell, Jeff Conner, Julie Friend and Bruce Swift. Planning staff: Chad Fike and Siera Wigfield.
- 3. Approval of Minutes- The previous meeting minutes were approved as presented.
- 4. Reports of Officers-None.
- 5. **Election of Officers**. The current officers, Chairman Tony Doerr, Vice Chairman Liz Georg and Secretary Jeff Messenger, were reelected by unanimous vote.
- 6. Deep Creek Watershed Zoning Appeals Cases-
 - None
- 7. Major Subdivisions:
 - None
- 8. **Spiker Waiver Request:** The heirs of Ralph and Ruth Spiker requested a waiver from the minimum 30' private road right of way width to allow an 11' ROW over a portion of Kate's Mountain Road. The subject properties are located on Map 41, Parcels 9, 100 and 108. Katie Spiker, representing some of the affected property owners, requested that the waiver request be withdrawn and postponed until a later date since she was not familiar with the request letter or recent subdivision plats. The Planning Commission unanimously voted to table the request until a later meeting.
- 9. Draft Water & Sewer Plan Amendment. Senior Planner Siera Wigfield presented a draft amendment to the Garrett County Water and Sewer Master Plan. This amendment includes water service expansions, sewer system upgrades, and infrastructure replacements for Grantsville, Gorman, Chestnut Ridge, and Jennings. The Planning Commission unanimously voted to forward their recommendation that the amendment be forwarded to the County Commissioners.
- **10. Adjournment –** Chairman Tony Doerr adjourned the meeting at 2:04 pm.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Chad Fike, Assistant Director