Garrett County Planning Commission Minutes May 1, 2024

- 1. **Call to Order** Chairman Tony Doerr called the regular meeting of the Garrett County Planning Commission to order at 1:30 pm on May 1, 2024, in the County Commissioners Meeting Room in the Garrett County Courthouse.
- 2. Attendance- Commission members: Tony Doerr, Tim Schwinabart, Liz Georg, Bruce Swift, Larry Tichnell, Jeff Messenger and Jeff Conner. Planning staff: Chad Fike, and John Groves. Public: Mike Ohm.
- 3. Approval of Minutes- The previous meeting minutes were approved as presented.
- 4. Reports of Officers-None.
- 5. **Election of Officers** By unanimous votes, the Commission reelected Tony Doerr as Chairman and Jeff Messenger as Secretary and elected Liz Georg as Vice Chairman.
- 6. Deep Creek Watershed Zoning Appeals Cases- None
- 7. **Major Subdivision: Cathedral Springs Lot 7-** 1000 Acres Golf Properties, LLC submitted a Final Plat for Lot 7 of the Cathedral Springs Subdivision. The property (Map 67, Parcel 793) is located along Crows Point Road in the Lake Residential 1 zoning district. The Planning Commission approved the plat by a unanimous vote.
- 8. **County Agricultural Preservation Districts** John Groves presented the following proposed County Agricultural Preservation District applications. After discussion the Planning Commission approved the applications by a unanimous vote.
 - YR-170 Gregan Crawford- 143.007 total acres off Landon's Dam Road.
 - BC-169 Chester Yoder- 172.250 total acres off Harmon Road.
- 9. Deep Creek Watershed Zoning Ordinance, Farm Winery Discussion- The Planning Commission continued to discuss the possibility of amending the Deep Creek Watershed Zoning Ordinance to allow farm wineries. The original proposal was submitted by property owner Mike Ohm. After discussion, the Planning Commission was generally agreeable to allowing the use as long as it complies with the applicable Maryland Class 3 and/or 4 winery licenses. Mr. Fike will provide additional info on those licenses and assemble a proposal that can be voted on at the next meeting.
- **10. Election of Officers-** By unanimous votes, the Commission reelected Tony Doerr as Chairman and Jeff Messenger as Secretary and Liz Georg was elected as Vice Chairman.
- **11. Adjournment –** Chairman Tony Doerr adjourned the meeting at 2:13 pm.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Chad Fike, Assistant Director